Temporarily CLOSED To Orders!
Sale!

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

(6 customer reviews)

$26.49

Description

Book Summary

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past—or his—catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

 

 

Condition: New

Hardcover, Published January 5, 2021 by St. Martin’s Press

ISBN: 9781250245496

 

6 reviews for The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

  1. Amy

    I’ve never read Jane Eyre so I’m basing my opinions on this book only.

    This one starts off a little slow but picks up quickly after that. It’s full of twists and even some I didn’t see coming, which is always a plus. It kept me interested throughout the story and I really enjoyed how everything pieced together. Solid thriller I think most will enjoy!

  2. KC

    The Wife Upstairs has been everywhere so I’m gonna keep my review short. If you like domestic thrillers read it! Another book I think going in blind is best. This one kept me wondering who was telling the truth and who was lying. I did guess this one early, but I still really enjoyed it! I loved the ending as well.

  3. Tali Leonard

    Having not read Jane Eyre to compare similarities or knowing what to expect other than it was not a faced paced book, I found “The Wife Upstairs” by Rachel Hawkins to be an enthralling read.

    With southern gothic vibes, it was light and fun. I loved the stereotypical wealthy people described in throughout the pages.

    Jane, a dog walker for Thornfield estates; the perfect neighborhood with manicured lawns, pretty pets and clothes to impress sums it up. Jane meets Eddie Rochester, recently widowed and very available resident that Jane begins to feel that she snagged the one. Unfortunately, no one in this book is innocent.

    The book is full of unlikeable characters and everyone in the book deserved what they got. This did not stop me from getting excited as the evil was revealed slowly. My need to see what would happen next kept the pages turning. The book also had several puzzle pieces that I was constantly trying to solve.

    Overall, book was really fun, but I would not recommend it for someone who wants a fast paced thriller since it took time to reveal it’s secrets.

  4. Chandra

    A twist on Jane Eyre? Yeah, honestly means nothing to me because I’ve never read it nor have watched any adaptations. 😲 I know…. I know…. but I am who I am and have really enjoyed a lot of the modern day twists on these classics so really there’s no FOMO and for that, I thank you authors who write these!

    Hawkins gave us a very suspenseful read and triggered my ever growing need of an isolated huge house somewhere with lots of land and ghostly noises. It would be my vacation home. 😃 The pacing is moderate and full of suspenseful moments that kept my interest from start to end. While I never got any *A-HA* moments, I did close the book with a smile (a smirk?) on my face and was highly entertained throughout.

    As someone who reads a ton of thrillers, I would put this on the more lighter suspense reads that I absolutely enjoy occasionally and this one happened to fit my mood today. Even without knowing the classic this sharp take is based on, I easily figured out what was going on and wasn’t surprised at any reveals. And I’m perfectly ok with that. I enjoyed the different perspectives and how who I rooted for would change periodically… considering they all seem terrible. *ha*

    If you read a ton of thrillers but are looking for something lighter to pick up, definitely add this to your arsenal. If you’re new to the genre, this is a great place to get your domestic suspenseful needs fulfilled.
    ________
    As a Thriller Book Lover Reviewer, I receive a small
    compensation for the time it takes me to provide my honest reviews on the Thriller Book Lover website. Although I receive compensation for this role, my reviews are my 100% honest opinion. My ratings have not been influenced in any way by the compensation that I receive. The book review I have provided here is the same rating I would provide if I were to rate it on other book reviewing sites.
    ______
    You can find me via my blog at http://www.wherethereadergrows.com or on Bookstagram at https://www.instagram.com/wherethereadergrows/.

  5. Blondethrillerbooklover

    .
    I LOVED this book! LOVED! 💕
    .
    Jane is down on her luck and broke. She has recently moved to Birmingham, Alabama to leave her past behind. She has just started dog walking for the uber wealthy in a fancy, exclusive neighborhood.
    .
    One day, out walking dogs, she meets Eddie- a ridiculously handsome man that lives in one of the beautiful mansions.
    .
    Eddie’s wife has recently died in a boating accident. After they chat for a while, Eddie asks Jane out. Jane is certain her luck has finally turned around.
    .
    This is the life Jane has always dreamed of, but she is struggling to fit in. With all of the gossip in the neighborhood, Jane constantly feels like she is in the shadow of Eddie’s late wife.
    .
    Later, suspicions arise….. 👀
    .
    _____
    .
    Trust me! You do NOT want to miss this one!

    *As a Thriller Book Lover Reviewer, I receive a small compensation for the time it takes me to provide my honest reviews on the Thriller Book Lover website. Although I receive compensation for this role, my reviews are my 100% honest opinion. My ratings have not been influenced in any way by the compensation that I receive. The book review I have provided here is the same rating I would provide if I were to rate it on other book reviewing sites.

  6. Elysse W

    A hilariously unique and thrilling re-telling of Jane Eyre! I really enjoyed this; it was funny and familiar, while also suspenseful and scary. Even though I could recall Jane Eyre, it was still it’s own story and wasn’t SO similar that it wasn’t enjoyable; and certainly, you wouldn’t have to have read Jane Eyre to enjoy this one! Brilliantly written and perfectly crafted, this should be on everyone’s TBR!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *