FREE SHIPPING in the U.S.

The Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid

(3 customer reviews)

$16.99

Out of stock

Description

Book Summary

In this twisty, compelling thriller, a young woman quickly embarks on what she thinks is the relationship and love of a lifetime, and she’s thrilled when her new husband insists they follow one rule: they don’t talk about the past, but it’s a rule that has dangerous consequences—perfect for fans of A Simple Favor and The Kiss Quotient.

Is her new husband hiding something?

Caught up in a whirlwind romance that starts in sunny Ibiza and leads to the cool corridors of a luxurious English country estate, Poppy barely has time to catch her breath, let alone seriously question if all this is too good to be true. Drew is enamored, devoted, and, okay, a little mysterious—but that’s part of the thrill. What’s the harm in letting his past remain private?

Maybe he’s not the only one…

Fortunately, Drew never seems to wonder why his young wife has so readily agreed to their unusual pact to live only in the here and now and not probe their personal histories. Perhaps he assumes, as others do, that she is simply swept up in the intoxication of infatuation and sudden wealth. What’s the harm in letting them believe that?

How far will they go to keep the past buried?

Isolated in Drew’s sprawling mansion, Poppy starts to have time to doubt the man she’s married, to wonder what in his past might be so terrible that it can’t be spoken of, to imagine what harm he might be capable of. She doesn’t want this dream to shatter. But Poppy may soon be forced to confront the dark truth that there are sins far more dangerous than the sin of omission…

 

Condition: New

Paperback, Published July 28, 2020 by Harper Perennial

ISBN: 9780062997586

 

3 reviews for The Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid

  1. Chandra (verified owner)

    I’m a bit torn with this one. It starts off interestingly enough – nanny gets fired and meets the man of her dreams in a random spot that turns into a whirlwind marriage with the caveat that they never speak of their pasts. What’s the worry, right? 🤷 Two timelines and I’m intrigued with both of them. The pacing is quite nice and it definitely held my interest. But then…. then…

    I wasn’t really surprised with any of the revelations here. And that was ok – sometimes I’m perfectly fine with seeing what’s coming if it keeps me entertained and interested like The Truth Hurts did. But for some reason, that very last part before the epilogue… while it may have been fitting, I huffed a bit because it also seemed like a bit of a 180. So yes, maybe a *little* surprised by that finality but (again) while fitting, seemed like a forced puzzle piece. Am I making any sense here?

    What I really liked about this is that I totally get why a couple might try a *forget the past, we are only in the present* type of situation because OMG, fights that bring up the past are THE WORST. So I loved the intrigue of a couple doing this. Now, obviously this means there are some secrets we need to learn about and if both parties are agreeable then clearly …. well, I need to know what they are SO YES TO THIS.

    And as I sit here and simmer, I gain a little more appreciation for that ending … BUT, I still feel like something was off there. I can’t quite put it into words on exactly why but it made me use more muscles to frown and one of my eyes rolled… and yet I’m also still like okkkkkkkkkk. Coolio. So yeah. I’m TORN. I’m sure this review was mighty helpful!
    ________
    As a Thriller Book Lover Reviewer, I receive a small
    compensation for the time it takes me to provide my honest reviews on the Thriller Book Lover website. Although I receive compensation for this role, my reviews are my 100% honest opinion. My ratings have not been influenced in any way by the compensation that I receive. The book review I have provided here is the same rating I would provide if I were to rate it on other book reviewing sites.
    ______
    You can find me via my blog at http://www.wherethereadergrows.com or on Bookstagram at https://www.instagram.com/wherethereadergrows/.

  2. KC

    I love pink books and am a fan of drinks on book covers. I like going into thrillers blind, so I will def base some of my thriller choices on the book cover alone.

    Poppy gets fired from her job at 2am and meets Drew. A wealthy business man, shortly after they become a married couple and move into a huge mansion. Sounds perfect right? Only rule is they are not allowed to ever discuss their past, they must only discuss their future. Of course, weird things start happening and Poppy begins to question everything.

    Review: I’m not sure if this one was supposed to be fun, but I found it to be a very fun thriller. I loved the craziness of it and I loved that I wasn’t able to figure out anything. It was fast paced and atmospheric. This is my first book by this author, but I would definitely pick up for from her in the future. I would recommend this one to domestic thriller fans, quick reads, and light thrillers.

  3. Olivia F.

    For me, this story felt like a super familiar kind of domestic, psychological thriller book. I only read thrillers, so they never get old to me. 🤣However, unlike some other psychological thrillers I’ve read in the past, this one had a very original ending that I wouldn’t have predicted. I binge read this book, and overall found it very enjoyable. I tend to be drawn in by cute-looking book covers, and I love how this one is pink. 💖
    I feel like there aren’t enough thriller books with pink book covers,😂 so I love that about it too! 😍

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *