Temporarily CLOSED To Orders!
Sale!

A Good Marriage by Kimberly McCreight

(3 customer reviews)

$19.99

Description

Book Summary

Lizzie Kitsakis is working late when she gets the call. Grueling hours are standard at elite law firms like Young & Crane, but they’d be easier to swallow if Lizzie was there voluntarily. Until recently, she’d been a happily underpaid federal prosecutor. That job and her brilliant, devoted husband Sam—she had everything she’d ever wanted. And then, suddenly, it all fell apart.

No. That’s a lie. It wasn’t sudden, was it? Long ago the cracks in Lizzie’s marriage had started to show. She was just good at averting her eyes.

The last thing Lizzie needs right now is a call from an inmate at Rikers asking for help—even if Zach Grayson is an old friend. But Zach is desperate: his wife, Amanda, has been found dead at the bottom of the stairs in their Brooklyn brownstone. And Zach’s the primary suspect.

As Lizzie is drawn into the dark heart of idyllic Park Slope, she learns that Zach and Amanda weren’t what they seemed—and that their friends, a close-knit group of fellow parents at the exclusive Brooklyn Country Day school, might be protecting troubling secrets of their own. In the end, she’s left wondering not only whether her own marriage can be saved, but what it means to have a good marriage in the first place.

 

Condition: New

Hardcover, Published May 5, 2020 by Harper Imprint

ISBN: 9780062367686

3 reviews for A Good Marriage by Kimberly McCreight

  1. Tali+Leonard

    “The Good Marriage”

    I orignally saw this book on Book of the Month but the cover really did not grab me. It was not eyr catching enough for me. Recently, while searching for audiobooks, “The Good Marriage” popped up and I figured let’s give this a try. It was pleanstly surprising.

    Lizzie is working late one evening at the law office of Younf & Crane when she receives a call that would change her world. Zach Grayson, an old law school friend, is calling Lizzie from Rikers. Zach has been accused of his wife Amanda’s murder and he wants Lizzie to represent him. Lizzie does not practice criminal law but she is the only person Zach trusts.

    The Good Marriage is told through the eyes of Lizzie and Amanda (before her murder). There were testimony sections sprinkled in which I enjoyed immensly. I found myself eager to continue to listening to the book. It started out a litte slow but very quickly built up the pace.

    The title is “The Good Marriage”, yet a lot of marriages are represented in this book. Ones that look neat on the outside but messy on the inside. As a result, the book was filled with a lot of characters and the author paid attention to small details. “The Good Marriage” could of easily been a one-dimensional thriller but it was complex and kept the me guessing.

    As the story unfolded, small clues were revealed as part of a bigger picture. I continued to change my assumptions about the culprit until the very end. The book has several chracters and backstories that the author ties all together nicely. Some of the chracters were likeable and some were unlikeable but none were free from suspicion.

  2. Chandra

    I absolutely loved Reconstructing Amelia so was thrilled to get a copy of McCreight’s latest, A Good Marriage! And color me surprised to realize I’ve also read the first two of her Outlier trilogy! And yes, I loved them all! Also, this cover – it took me a moment to realize there’s a guy’s face on top of the girl’s… and that it’s super creepy… and I love it!

    This was quite a fun read. Lizzie takes on a little more than she can chew when an old friend of hers needs her as his lawyer. He found his wife dead, claims he’s innocent but still in jail for assaulting an officer. Just what IS this dude’s deal? Like with most thrillers, nothing is as it seems.

    McCreight keeps us on our toes. I love the Grand Jury testimonies and memos throw in periodically between the chapters. There’s something about the law and thrillers that really piques my interest. The suspense is real here and the author keeps the tension alive throughout the pages. Reveals are given to us as we read so even while we’re still adjusting to a “WHAT” moment, we’re still continuing in our journey to find the killer.

    While maybe this could’ve been shorted just a tad, the 400 pages shouldn’t deter you as this reads very quickly. A perfect entertaining read that will keep you guessing until the end.
    ________
    As a Thriller Book Lover Reviewer, I receive a small
    compensation for the time it takes me to provide my honest reviews on the Thriller Book Lover website. Although I receive compensation for this role, my reviews are my 100% honest opinion. My ratings have not been influenced in any way by the compensation that I receive. The book review I have provided here is the same rating I would provide if I were to rate it on other book reviewing sites.
    ______
    You can find me via my blog at http://www.wherethereadergrows.com or on Bookstagram at https://www.instagram.com/wherethereadergrows/.

  3. KC

    I liked this one, but I didn’t love it as much as I had hoped. It’s great for fans of Big Littles Lies and Legal thrillers. If that’s your thing, def check this one out!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *