FREE SHIPPING in the U.S.
Sale!

A Dark and Secret Place by Jen Williams

(1 customer review)

$24.99

Description

Book Summary

For fans of Kathleen Barber and Julia Heaberlin comes a chilling psychological suspense from award-winning author Jen Williams about a woman who discovers her late mother had a decades-long secret correspondence with a serial killer, begging the question: how well do we know our own family and even ourselves?

When prodigal daughter Heather Evans returns to her family home after her mother’s baffling suicide, she makes an alarming discovery–stacks and stacks of carefully preserved letters from notorious serial killer Michael Reave. The “Red Wolf,” as he was dubbed by the press, has been in prison for over twenty years, serving a life sentence for the gruesome and ritualistic murders of several women across the country, although he has always protested his innocence. The police have had no reason to listen, yet Heather isn’t the only one to have cause to re-examine the murders. The body of a young woman has just been found, dismembered and placed inside a tree, the corpse planted with flowers. Just as the Red Wolf once did.

What did Heather’s mother know? Why did she kill herself? And with the monstrous Red Wolf safely locked inside a maximum security prison, who is stalking young women now? Teaming up with DI Ben Parker, Heather hopes to get some answers for herself and for the newest victims of this depraved murderer. Yet to do that, she must speak to Michael Reave herself, and expose herself to truths she may not be ready to face. Something dark is walking in the woods, and it knows her all too well.

 

Condition: New

Hardcover, Published June 8, 2021 by Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 9781643855745

 

1 review for A Dark and Secret Place by Jen Williams

  1. KC

    I think this would make the perfect read for someone who is into horror, and dark fairy tales.

    As for me I don’t think this was a good match for me. I had a hard time following the audio. There were parts that left me confused. And then I lost interest. The narrator was really good, don’t get me wrong! I just think some books are easier to follow on audio then others.

    As mentioned, I had high hopes for this book, but sadly it wasn’t for me. It was very confusing to begin with and then I lost interest. I also didn’t appreciate the animal cruelty in the book either. It left me wanting to DNF.

    I can see this story has mixed reviews, a lot of people loved it and others not so much. I always recommend checking it out for yourself though.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *